Book Trailer

I chose to do a book trailer for teens ages 14+ and I focused on The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. First I wanted to look up some examples of book trailers because I wasn’t really sure what was needed. I found some great information from the Conroe Independent School District (n.d.) and from booktrailersforreaders.com (n.d.). From these sites I was able to start planning out my own book trailer. I knew that this would work best if it was in video form, so I decided to use PowToon to make it a little easier on myself.

At first, I really struggled with this application. Everything was taking SO LONG! It was extremely frustrating. But then I realized that it most likely was the browser I was using and presto changeo I was in business and moving along nicely. Even with the faster moving browser this was a lengthy assignment but ultimately rewarding. I think with more experience I’ll be able to venture into using more graphics and techniques. But for my first time using the software and making a trailer, I’m pretty satisfied with the result.

 

References:

Alexie, S. (2007). The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian. New York, NY: Little, Brown & Company.

Anankkml. (2010). School zone sign [Digital image]. Retrieved from http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/Roads_and_traffic_si_g257-School_Zone_Sign_p24372.html

Conroe Independent School District. (n.d.). Creating book trailers. Retrieved from http://library.conroeisd.net/book_trailers

Forney, E. (2007). The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian [Art work]. New York, NY: Little, Brown & Company.

Goodreads. (2016). The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian [Cover photo]. Retrieved from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/693208.The_Absolutely_True_Diary_of_a_Part_Time_Indian?ac=1&from_search=true

Hachette Book Group. (2016). The absolutely true diary of a part-time Indian. Retrieved from http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/titles/sherman-alexie/the-absolutely-true-diary-of-a-part-time-indian/9780316013680/

Harclerode, M. (n.d.). Book trailers for readers. Retrieved from http://www.booktrailersforreaders.com/How+to+make+a+book+trailer

Leave a Reply

